Edit markup layers
  • 2 Minutes to read

Edit markup layers


Each markup you make on a plan sheet is added as a layer. The set of markups made in one session forms a layer group. Each layer group is saved when published, with a group name specified while publishing. 

The layer editor shows the layer groups and individual layers as a tree structure. You can edit the layer group or individual layers, copy a layer group for use on another plan sheet, lock the markups to protect them from inadvertent changes, and so on.

To edit the markups

  • Open the plan sheet
  • Tap the layer button  to open the layer editor:

The editor shows the tree view of markups. These include the markup made by you and those added by shared with you by others.

The editor allows you to:

Show/hide markups

You can selectively hide markups that you do not want to see on the plan.

  • Use the eye icon beside 'Markups' to view/hide all markups at once

To show/hide a markup group

  • Touch the eye icon beside a group name to toggle between hiding and viewing the markups.

To show/hide individual markups

  • Touch the down arrow beside a markup group name to expand its markup layers 
  • Touch the eye icon beside an individual markup to toggle between hiding and viewing it

Lock/Unlock markups

You can lock positions of markups to avoid them from being moved by unintentional actions when you are creating draft markups. You cannot lock/unlock published markups.

To lock a markup group

  • Tap the ellipses beside 'Draft' to open the context-sensitive menu
  • Use the 'Lock' toggle switch to lock the position of the markups in the group

All markups in the draft are locked and indicated with a lock icon on them.

  • Use the same switch to unlock them.

To lock an individual markup

  • Use the padlock icon beside the markup name to lock the markup.


Copy and paste markups

The Copy/Paste options allow you to clone markups and edit the copies as required. This is useful if similar markups with minor variations are made in sheets, for example, to share with different persons.

To clone a markup group

  • Open the plan sheet
  • Tap the ellipses beside the name of the source markup to open the context-sensitive menu
  • Tap 'Copy'
  • Tap the '+' button to create a draft layer group
  • Tap the ellipses beside 'Draft' then tap 'Paste' in the context-sensitive menu. 

The markup is added to the sheet.

  • Long touch the markup to edit and move to the location as required

Remove markups

You can delete unwanted markups until they are in the draft state. Published markups cannot be removed.

To remove a draft markup group

  • Tap the ellipses beside the draft markup group to open the context-sensitive menu 
  • Choose 'Delete' from the options

To remove individual markups

  • Expand the draft markup group
  • Tap the ellipses beside the markup
  • Choose 'Delete'

Was this article helpful?

What's Next